By State Law, individual Florida counties are authorized to impose a sales surtax called a discretionary sales surtax or local option sales surtax. Collier County proposed an additional one percent sales tax, or one-cent sales surtax for each dollar, to pay for local authorized infrastructure projects. In many cases there is a limit to the amount of tax charged. The one-cent sales surtax is subject to voter approval, and was on the General Election ballot November 2018. It was approved by voters and the one-cent sales surtax began to be collected January 1, 2019. The collection will end either at the end of seven years, December 31, 2026, or the year that $490 million has been collected, whichever happens first. The one-cent sales surtax applies to the first $5,000 of the sales amount of items of tangible personal property excluding groceries and medicine. The Florida Department of Revenue defines tangible personal property as personal property that you can see, weigh, measure, or touch or is in any manner perceptible to the senses, including power or energy.
The $5,000 limit does not apply to the following types of transactions: